Today, Kemp was talking about making goals for the future, and how long term goals help direct your actions. This made me think about our conversation a few weeks back about how I have no direction in life and how I'm struggling to find myself in this class.

One thing I really thought about was my explanation of how I do well in math, but struggle in English. I said that I need an equation, a process to compete things with one final and correct answer at the end. No opinions, no varying degree of being correct; if you get the answer right, you're right. If you get the answer wrong, you're wrong. With this mindset, I came to the conclusion that if I direct myself, if I find the answer to my equation of life, I might be able to put the pieces together of how I'm going to get there. I did the same thing with a math problem last week; I had missed a few days of school and didn't know how to solve a problem, so I looked in the back of the text book to find the answer, and taught myself an equation that I could use to solve all problems like it.

One thing I am very passionate about is Chemistry, something about it just makes perfect sense without anyone explaining it. In the past, I've given some thought to becoming a chemical engineer, but for some reason I'm not sure that's what I want to do with the rest of my life. It's a hard decision, to choose one thing that you dedicate the rest of your life to. But I've been floating and coasting for too long, and I need to direct myself soon, or I could end up failing high school.

Circling back to my original point, the reason I struggle in these classes is because there is no one right answer. There could be as many answers as you could interpret, but I'm not wired that way. I think in one mindset, and that is that there is one right answer, and you need an equation or a plan or rules or something to follow to get to that answer. If you do it properly, you will succeed, if you do it improperly, you will fail. I have a feeling that's the reason I just got a 96 on my math test, but am failing this future forms class.

I've come to the conclusion that I need to find my answer, and develop equation around that answer. For instance, if I want to pursue becoming a chemical engineer, I should focus my classes around the maths and sciences, classes I succeed in. One thing I'm doing wrong lately, is just waiting for someone to tell me what to do. If someone were to just walk up to me and tell me what I should do with my life, I would find a way to do it. I guess I'm just afraid to choose something, and end up not enjoying it. But I need to take the initiative and put my life on course before it gets derailed.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    This is about me. Just me.